Bulletin blues. . .

11 02 2007

It’s Saturday night at 9:00 and I still haven’t typed the bulletin.  I think typing the bulletin is one of those things that fell to me because I am the pastor’s wife and I happen to type fast.  It is not a job I particularly enjoy and I often find myself doing it late on Saturday night.  This time, I actually have a good excuse.  I spent the entire day (and I do mean entire) working on details for this little birthday party we are throwing tomorrow for Bryn and Lydia.  They will be 5 on Tuesday (the 13th) and we decided this is a milestone birthday and deserves a party.  They requested a few friends and we turned it into those friends and their parents.  Additionally, Conrad’s parents are coming out and bringing along our niece who is a year younger than B and L.  So, before we knew it, this little shin-dig turned into a party for 18 people.

So, I spent my day baking individual heart- shaped cakes and getting those decorated (that part was really fun.  I poured a glaze over them that hardened so I didn’t have to sit there and frost all of those individually and then I used some decorating icing to pipe a little detail around them.  I thought of you, Rhonda, since you taught me some basic Wilton tips in the kitchen at Christ Church. . . oh for the good ol’ days).  My menu includes pulled pork sandwiches (which I made today and will just stick in the crock pot tomorrow. It had my house smelling yummy all day), cole-slaw, chips, and grapes.

The girls are insisting we play “Pin the Tail on the Donkey” and have bag races.  I’ve left those details to Conrad so we’ll see what he comes up with.  I’ll post pictures of the party sometime soon.  I’m sure you’re all waiting with baited breath.

Enough procrastinating.  Off to type the bulletin.

Actions

Information

One response

11 02 2007
Rhonda

Wow, I can hardly believe your girls are turning 5. That means it’s almost 5 years ago that I called you to tell you I was pregnant with twins. 🙂 Time flies. I love birthday parties, even though they usually end up being a lot of work. Have fun celebrating 5 years of parenting. 🙂 Oh, your menu sounds SO good. Wish I could stop in for a leftover sandwich. 🙂

Leave a Reply

