Birthday Reflections

13 02 2007

Five years ago today my twins were born and thus began the biggest (and most sleep deprived) adventure of my life. I can’t say it’s all been fun and I won’t lie and say I’ve enjoyed every minute of it, but when I look at Bryn and Lydia at 5 years old, I know that I am blessed beyond measure. In honor of this monumental day, I am reflecting on the last 5 years and offering a few of my favorite memories here:

1. 8 months old: I found both girls had crawled/rolled under the kitchen table. Lydia had the blade end of a pair of scissors in her mouth and Bryn was trying to grab them from her. Oh my. . .

2. 10 months old: They made each other laugh for the first time. It was so priceless. . .

3. 18 months old: They both got a nasty case of pink eye. I will never forget walking into their room on a Sunday morning and finding Bryn standing up in her crib with her eyes glued shut from all that nasty gunk. She looked my direction and said, “Peek-a-boo Mommy! Peek-a-boo!” Poor thing. She thought she was playing some extended version of peek-a-boo where you can’t see for hours at a time.

4. 2 1/2 years old: I took them both to Target to do a little shopping and both of them threw such horrendous fits in the store that I was forced to leave early to preserve all of our sanity. I count that day as the worst day I have ever had as a parent. I came home from Target and promptly posted both girls on ebay. I didn’t get a single bidder.

5. 4 years old: Their baby sister, Ellie was born. They came to the hospital and crawled onto my bed and we all snuggled with the new baby.

Okay, enough sentiment. I just might spend the whole day bawling if I keep this up. Today is a very snowy, blustery day in central Ohio and I am loving it. I have nowhere to go and nothing on the agenda that can’t wait another day or two. So with that in mind, I will bake. Cinnamon rolls and chocolate chip cookies are a few of my favorite snowy day treats. Also, here are a few pictures from our very fun birthday party on Sunday evening.

Pin the Tail on the Donkey
Pin the Tail on the Donkey complete with a hand-drawn Eeyore by my talented, closet-cartoonist husband.

bl-birthday-003.jpg
Party food

bl-birthday-009.jpg
Bag races


Actions

Information

3 responses

14 02 2007
Rhonda

Good job choking me up there. I don’t blame you if the 5 year mark made you a little sentimental. I’m already having a little crisis about S and A turning 5 and that’s not till October!! Looks like a fun party!

16 02 2007
Colleen

Oh Vicki…that was very sweet, especially the part about putting them up for bid on ebay! You crack me up! I have one of my own memories to add to that list. I don’t remember their exact age, but the twins were still infants and we played peek-a-boo for a long time and I had them both laughing, in a rather synchronized fashion I might add! Looks like you had a great party and if I were five I would say you are the best mom ever, ah heck, I will say it anyway. YOU ARE THE BEST MOM EVER!! (just don’t tell Rhonda I said that). Remember on the days you aren’t so sure, Colleen said and you need to believe it!
Tell the girls I said hi and wish them a happy birth-week (since this is a little late).
Love and prayers,
Co

20 02 2007
LaRonda

Hi Vicki, Sorry, I wasn’t there to make donuts with you. I guess that would have been considered our first real snow and I missed it, but the sunshine was sure nice in Phoenix.
See you soon!
LaRonda

Leave a Reply

