A Few Ramblings

28 02 2007

Ellie burned her 3 middle fingers last night.  I was in the kitchen writing a list and I sat her on the counter while I did that.  She took the coffee pot off the burner (which was off) and was starting to bang it around so I took it from her.  The next thing I know she is screaming.  It took me a minute to figure out what was going on and it finally dawned on me that she must have hit the “on” switch for the coffee maker and touched the hot plate where the pot had been sitting.  I quickly stuck her fingers in cold water and she quieted right down.  She hardly even cried at all so I didn’t think it was that bad.  But a few minutes later I looked and those 3 fingers were blistered.  I felt so bad!  She must have a high pain tolerance because she didn’t seem to be bothered by them anymore.  Also, her 2 bottom teeth are in and I think she’s working on the 2 top ones.  The only way I know is because I can see them.  She’s not even fussy.  What a dream baby. . . I darn well deserve her.  Yes, I do.

We enrolled Bryn and Lydia in 2 classes at the local YMCA.  They started their gym class last night.  Conrad took them to that.  They played dodge ball and tug-of-war with about 15 kids.  Sounds like they had a great time.  Then, this morning, I took them to their first swimming class.  They absolutely loved that.  Each of those classes is just once a week.  I wanted them to be exposed to a few new things, plus I think swimming lessons are important.  And since Conrad can take them on Monday nights I don’t feel like I’m running all over the place.  I refuse to be one of those “stay-at-home” moms who is never home because she is living her life at break-neck speed trying to get her kids into every activity known to man.  Just a small pet peeve of mine.

This evening we are  attending an open house at the Catholic elementary school here in town.  It is highly unlikely that we will be sending our kids there, but we are trying to explore every option for our kids schooling before we decide on anything.  I’m not sure how I feel about them being surrounded by Catholicism when I have a lot of questions about it.  But, would I rather have them surrounded by the secularism of the public schools?  Our local schools are nothing to brag about and I have a number of concerns about sending them there.  For all you veteran parents out there, I would love to hear how you came to the decision you did concerning your children’s education.

I had a conversation with Bryn this morning that went something like this:

B:  Mommy, can I teach you a song?

M:  Sure.

B: “They’re big, I’m little. . . why can’t little guys do big things too”  Mommy, even though I’m little, can I do big things?

M:  Sure you can.  Just like David and Goliath.  David was little. . .

B:  (Looking very exasperated with me):  Mommy, there aren’t any giants around here.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 02 2007
Kimmie

I really needed that laugh…what a great story about Bryn! Nice work with trying to slip some biblical principles in, Vick! Still laughing…

28 02 2007
Rhonda

That is a good story! I don’t have any big advice on choosing how to educate your kids, but I think you’ll know fairly soon if you’ve chosen the right one, and I think it’s important to be willing to change. Just my 2 cents. 🙂

6 03 2007
Lisa

When my boys were just learning to crawl, Jonathan found the vaporizer and burned two of his fingers in the steam–both of his two middle fingers were like two giant blisters for about a week. I felt like such a terrible parent. But I’m pretty sure he’s forgiven me =).

I’m glad you’re considering Catholic schools–I have mixed feelings about them, but it always surprises me that more Evangelicals don’t choose that option.

Leave a Reply

