Kindergarten Prep

18 04 2007

Last week I took B and L to the doctor for a check-up and kindergarten shots.  I told them before we went that they would need a shot and they seemed okay about it.  I told them if they were really big girls they could each pick out something special at the store (a little bribery never hurt anyone, right?).  Bryn told me she wanted a cook book for kids and Lydia looked at me and said, “Mommy, I really want a pet” which, much to my relief, was later modified to a stuffed elephant.

Anyway, the doc said they were really healthy and had no concerns at all.  Then he quietly said to me, “They will each need 3 shots today so I’ll send the nurse right in.” As soon as he left, mass chaos broke out as the girls figured out what was about to happen.  Thankfully, I had had the foresight not to bring Ellie along, and my uncle who works at the doctor’s office came in and took Lydia for a walk while I tried to get Bryn, who was now screaming hysterically, undressed.  Three nurses came in, each holding a syringe.  They helped me hold Bryn down and on the count of 3 they all jabbed her at the same time (one in each leg and one at the left arm).  Any of you who know this daughter of mine know that she has had a temper since the moment she arrived on the planet (and even in utero), and she showed her colors loud and strong to those nurses.  Never in my life have I seen her so mad. . .kinda funny if you think about it.  Actually, I did feel kind of sorry for her, but holy smokes, you’d have thought we were amputating her legs.  I finally got her settled down and the nurses offered her stickers and lollipops which helped a lot and then B and L traded places and we started all over again.  L wasn’t too happy about it all either but she didn’t put up quite the fight as her sister.  I got her settled down with her share of stickers and lollipops and the nurse said to me, “Well now they don’t need any more shots until college.”  I sighed with relief, paid the bill, and got out of that office before I completely lost my sanity.  On the way home the girls piped up from the back seat and said, “Mommy, when do we have to go to college?” which really made me laugh.  I assured them it was many “sleeps” away and it wasn’t worth worrying about right now.  Then, because we all survived the experience I stopped in at Marie’s Candies on the way home and let them each pick out a piece of chocolate.  Lydia picked a chocolate computer and Bryn picked a chocolate cell phone.  I got a chocolate covered oreo for myself and we were all happy women on the way home.  Ahhh, yes, the wonder of chocolate.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 04 2007
Kimmie

You write the best stories…

19 04 2007
Rhonda

kimmie’s right…it’s a great story, but, ugh…now i’ll have to go check how much we’re behind with shots. 😦 ah well, at least i’ll know what COULD happen now. 🙂 glad you got your chocolate!

Leave a Reply

