The new job

10 05 2007

As I mentioned in yesterday’s blog I am starting a new job soon.  For the last few months Conrad and I have been discussing the possibility of me going back to work part time.  We’ve always ruled it out because we don’t feel like we have a good option for child care.  But, recently, Conrad’s boss (from the Marriage Resource Center where he works 1 day a week) came to him and said they didn’t receive a grant they were hoping for and therefore may not be able to keep him as an employee after June 1st.  To make a long story short, we sat down and discussed our options and finally decided that it might be time for me to update my resume and send it out to several optometry offices in the area.  Right about that time, I was browsing through the classifieds one morning and came across an ad looking for an optician.  Hmmmm.  So, I sent in my resume, went in for an interview and was hired on the spot.  The doctor was looking for someone to do full time but I told her I was only able to work 2 days a week.  She said, “Perfect.  I’ll take you.”  I’m planning to work on Mondays and Tuesdays.  Conrad will stay home those days (replacing his one day at the MRC and also replacing his normal day off).  Things might be a little nuts around here until we get into a groove, but to be honest, I’m looking forward to getting back into the workforce and I don’t feel guilty about leaving my kids since Conrad will be with them.  So that’s the scoop.  I officially begin on May 21 but I plan to go in for an orientation day on May 15.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 05 2007
Rhonda

that’s exciting! can’t wait to hear how it goes for you! i hope it’s a great experience for you.

22 05 2007
Rhonda

how was the first day? got any good stories to tell? 🙂

Leave a Reply

