I’m speechless

2 06 2007

I’m kinda into this show on Discovery called “The Deadliest Catch.”  In case you’re not familiar with it, it’s a show about fishing for King Crab on the Bering Sea.  Probably doesn’t sound all that great, but I find it so fascinating to watch how it’s done and I have great respect for the people who do it.  The reason the show is called “The Deadliest Catch” is because the job is considered among the deadliest jobs in the world.  The temperatures of the water are so brutally cold that a guy could survive only minutes if he goes overboard, plus there is so much dangerous equipment they work around in addition to all the normal dangers of being at sea (storms, etc.).

Anyway, so I’m watching this show yesterday and they were interviewing a guy who had some kind of accident on the boat that ended up crushing his ribs and severing a finger.  I noticed he was wearing a weird looking necklace and at the end of the interview the camera zooms in on it and the guy says it’s his lucky necklace.  He says, “Check this out.  I’ve got a bear claw, a lion claw, and my claw.”  Right around his neck on the same chain as the lion and bear claws is the half finger (complete with finger nail) that this guy lost in the accident.  I sat in my living room with my jaw dropped open for several seconds thinking to myself, “No, please no.  Please tell me this guy is not wearing his finger around his neck!”  But he was!  I am so terribly disturbed by this, I truly can’t put it into words.

There are some weird people out there.  Hang on to your kids.

Actions

Information

2 responses

3 06 2007
Rhonda

oh wy mord. that’s all i can say.

5 06 2007
Kimmie

Hahaha…..I love your blogs.

Leave a Reply

