Back from Michigan

26 07 2007

They say in Michigan there are 4 seasons:  winter, winter, winter, and road construction.  I definitely drove to Michigan in the middle of road construction.  In spite of the many delays, I managed to get to the Detroit Airport in time to pick up my sister who had flown in from Virginia.  The girls traveled very well and overall it was a good trip.

We were in Michigan for a reunion of a music group I was once a part of (as were my brother and sister).  The group is celebrating 25 years of existence so they planned a big reunion.  I saw people I haven’t seen since I was a little girl and I was able to reconnect with a lot of my high school friends.  Some looked the same, and some I would never have known.  After dinner we watched a video that someone put together of all the groups over the years.  It was rather embarrassing to watch.  I was in the group in the early 90’s  which meant really big hair and big, baggy clothes.  Not so flattering.

The rest of the weekend was spent at a benefit auction (my brother bought a cheesecake for $350. . .that better be one yummy cheesecake!), and hanging out with family, including a marshmallow roast on the beach.

Sunday night Kimmie and I drove back to the airport and got a hotel.  She flew out early Monday morning and I drove the rest of the way home with the girls.  I was home by noon so I spent the rest of the day unpacking and doing laundry, etc.   I worked Tuesday and Wednesday and am finally taking a breather today.  It’s pouring rain out today so it’s a good day to stay inside and get some projects done. . .baking bread is on my list today. . .can’t wait to have the house smelling good!

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 07 2007
Rhonda

great to hear from you again, and you have my admiration for doing a trip like that without conrad! way to go.

31 07 2007
Rachel

You drove to the Detroit airport with 3 kids? You are my hero!!

Leave a Reply

