Saturday Morning

28 07 2007

I was up half the night last night with Ellie working on her molars.  She was miserable even after the Tylenol should have kicked in.  Finally, around 5:00 a.m. I took her into the guest bed and slept with her there.  She calmed down a bit but I didn’t sleep very well thanks to all her flailing arms and legs.  I ended up sleeping in until 9:00 this morning (I honestly cannot recall the last time I was in bed that late).  When I saw how late it was I quickly got out of bed, got dressed, and asked Conrad if he could stay around a few more minutes so I could run to the farmer’s market.  He said fine, so I grabbed my purse and ran out the door.  The farmer’s market here in town is gaining popularity and I’ve learned that if you actually want to bring anything home with you you have to get there when they open or all the old ladies will buy everything.  It opens at 9:00, I got there at 9:07 and the place was swarming with people (80% were women over the age of 65, honestly!).  I happened to park beside a guy who was just opening his van full of stuff (they sell straight out of their vehicles and some set up tables).  He probably found me totally obnoxious, but I bought a ton of stuff from him before he even had a moment to collect his thoughts.  Corn on the cob, cantaloupe, tomatoes, brown eggs, zucchini, carrots,  green beans and cinnamon rolls all for around $20.  Definitely cheaper than the store and far better produce.  So, now here I sit, drinking a glass of skim milk, eating a cinnamon roll, and longing for a nap (it’s only 10:00 a.m.).

On another note, we’ve been enjoying lots of good food lately thanks to the farmer’s market and my grillin’ machine husband.  Last night was hamburgers, cucumber salad, corn on the cob, watermelon, and blueberry peach parfaits for dessert.  Tonight will be BLT’s, corn on the cob, watermelon, and tomorrow we’ll do bratwurst and lots of fresh fruits and veggies.  I love this time of year.  Meals are so easy!

Okay, this blog entry has been about absolutely nothing.   If you made it all the way through, I’m very impressed.  Off to clean up the kitchen. . .

Actions

Information

One response

31 07 2007
Rhonda

you’re making me hungry…

Leave a Reply

