Early Morning Thoughts. . .

3 08 2007

Lydia woke me up at 5:00 this morning because she was having a bad dream and after that I couldn’t go back to sleep.  Finally around 5:45 I got up, read the paper from yesterday, fixed coffee and peanut butter toast, emptied the dishwasher, then sat down and spent some time reading my bible and praying.  Now it’s 7:30 and the house is still quiet but that will soon come to an end.

Yesterday morning I got a phone call saying an old friend and 2nd cousin of mine was in town visiting family and wanted to get together.  So, I spent most of the day making my house presentable and then I made a peach cobbler and a pot of coffee in time for their arrival at 7:00.  The cobbler was still very warm when they got here, and I have to say, it was downright delicious!  We’ve been eating peaches galore these days. . .I don’t get tired of them.  Anyway, this dear friend of mine is a newlywed and right before his wedding he was diagnosed with cancer.  I guess it started as skin cancer and spread to his lymph nodes.  He had surgery to remove some lymph nodes, underwent treatment, got married as planned, and within a few weeks of completing treatment he found more lumps in his neck.  He had a full body scan which revealed the cancer was back and it had spread to his abdomen.  So now they have diagnosed him with stage 4 cancer.  But, we are praying for a miracle, and hoping that God spares his life and gives him the opportunity to see his children’s children.

Yesterday morning when I was taking my shower, Ellie kept pulling back the curtain and dropping stuff in the tub. . .toys, her pacifier, 2 pens, a ball.  Then, when I stepped out of the shower, she greeted me with my toothbrush in her mouth, and a big grin.  Yuck.  I decided, of course, that I wouldn’t be using that toothbrush anymore, and it’s a good thing because about an hour later I found that same toothbrush in the bottom of an empty milk carton.  Hmmm.  Also, while I was cleaning my bathrooms yesterday, she kept dropping things into my cleaning bucket and the toilet.  Why do I bother to try to get anything done under those circumstances??

We have a busy weekend planned.  Dinner with some friends tonight and then Conrad’s parents are coming late tonight on their way to Kansas.  They will stay just for breakfast  tomorrow then continue on their way.

Kids are still quiet so I think I’ll try to catch the headlines on CNN while I have the chance. . .

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

