A Few Ramblings

31 08 2007

Bryn and Lydia survived the first 5 days of school without any problems.  The other day, I overheard B say to L, “Lydia, show me that you’re listening” which I’m sure they hear throughout the day from their teacher.  They are also picking up new little songs like this (sung to the tune of “The Farmer in the Dell”):  “We do not interrupt.  We do not interrupt.  When someone else is talking we do not interrupt.”  Lydia was thrilled that she got to be the “special student” on Tuesday which meant she got to wear a crown all day and had some other privileges and the next day Bryn had a turn at being “special student.”

Ellie and I have been having fun together.  I took her grocery shopping with me one day which was fun and EASY!!  I gave her a little pack of goldfish and she was happy as could be the whole time.

Two lowlights from the week:

1.  I was at work on Tuesday and I got a phone call from the school at 3;30 saying, “We have two leftover little girls here who didn’t get picked up.”  My heart started to race and I said (in a not so calm voice), “MY HUSBAND WAS SUPPOSED TO GET THEM!  I’M GONNA SHOOT HIM!”  I then called my dear husband who promptly, very promptly, dropped everything to run and get our little girls who were patiently waiting for him in the school office.  It’s a good thing I didn’t get home from work for another 2 hours so I had time to calm down before I had to see him.  That will NOT happen again.  Actually, I understand how it can happen, so I can’t be too hard on him.  He was in the middle of an important phone call and lost track of time.  But still. . .

2.  Bryn came home on Wednesday and said 2 little boys were pointing at her and laughing on the playground.  That was hard to hear.  Makes me want to pull them out and homeschool them for the rest of their lives, but I won’t.  I asked her how she felt about that and she said, “It made me feel sad and nervous.”  I don’t know what else to say about that other than that’s the hard part of watching your kids grow up.  It has prompted me to fervently pray that all my girls would feel secure about who they are in Jesus and how much they are loved by Him and us.  To be honest, she really didn’t seem all that bothered by it.  She was happy to go back to school the next day and hasn’t mentioned it again.  It was probably harder on me than it was on her.

My family is coming for Labor Day Weekend so it will be a busy one. . .

Here’s one of my favorite pictures of Ellie, it totally captures her personality:

disney-2007-042.jpg

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 09 2007
Rhonda

glad to hear you all survived the first week…especially conrad. 😀 i’m thinking i’ll pull out that interrupting song at an opportune time.

i’m also enjoying the new picture-posting trend.

2 09 2007
Kimmie

Okay, who are the little boys? Seriously…I’ll take care of it if you just tell me some names…little punks.

Leave a Reply

