A Weird Start to the Day

7 09 2007

I was driving B and L to school this morning and I was stopped at a stop sign when something caught my attention out of the corner of my eye.  An SUV was rolling along with the driver side door swung wide open and no one inside of it!  It was the strangest thing to sit there and watch this all unfold.  I could hardly believe my eyes and I didn’t know what to do other than to sit there and watch it.  The SUV went right over top of the stop sign at the opposite corner from where I was sitting, then plowed into a fence and line of bushes before it finally stopped.  I wasn’t sure what to do, but I didn’t feel right about leaving and not reporting what I had just witnessed.  So I grabbed my cell phone, called 911 and told them what happened.  While I was on the phone with them, a guy came meandering along, holding a McDonald’s bag, got into the vehicle and drove away as if nothing happened!  Soon after that an officer came along, I gave him a description of the vehicle, and the man that I saw, told him which direction he drove in, etc.  In the middle of relaying this info, the man came around the corner walking along cool as a cucumber.  I was like, “That’s him!  That’s the guy I saw get into the SUV and drive away!”  The officer was like, “This gentleman right behind me?”  I said, “YES!”  and he said, “Okay.  Thank you mam.  You’re free to go.”  Then I heard the officer say to the man, “You okay, Charles?”  So apparently the cops are on a first name basis with this guy. . .I got to school just as the kids were heading into the building then when I got back to my van my phone rang and it was the 911 center calling to verify some info from me.  So I guess that’s that.  How strange!

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 09 2007
Rhonda

that is bizarre, indeed. thanks for sharing the story, though. it’s just what i like. 😀

8 09 2007
Rachel

Huh. Maybe he left it in neutral while he was in McDonalds… I have a tendancy to do that so it popped in my mind. But truly strange. = P

Leave a Reply

