Ellie is sleeping and I don’t know what to do with myself

13 09 2007

The title pretty much captures it all.  My house is clean, the laundry is caught up, dinner for tonight is under control, the groceries are put away.  It’s not that I couldn’t find something to do if I looked hard enough.  It’s that I don’t feel like looking that hard when I know it’s nothing urgent.  This thing about only having one child at home (and  she sleeps for 2-3 hours of the day) is an entirely new thing for me and I’m having trouble with knowing what to do about it.  The last few weeks I’ve used my extra time to catch up on some neglected areas in my house. . .I organized my cupboards, cleaned the laundry room, made lots of food for my freezer (meatballs, beef stew, cookies, bread, etc.), sorted through the girls clothes (put away the summer things and got the fall stuff out), cleaned the garage, organized my storage room, threw away a bunch of junk (Happy Meal toys, random puzzle pieces, etc.).  So now what?  I’m not complaining, mind you.  I’m just saying I’m restless and sometimes I feel a little guilty for not being busy.  Maybe it’s just that I’ve been living my life at break-neck speed for so long that now I don’t know how to handle down time.  Any thoughts?

Actions

Information

3 responses

14 09 2007
Rhonda

grab a book and a drink and put your feet up! enjoy it! 🙂 before you know it ellie will stop napping and you’ll be back to that hectic pace!

14 09 2007
Robyn

Sigh. This sounds really nice. Just ENJOY! And don’t feel guilty! 🙂

14 09 2007
girlymom

Thanks, ladies. . .it somehow feels good to have permission to take it easy and not feel guilty about it! I sat down and watched a documentary about 1st century Christians in Rome yesterday afternoon. It inspired me to travel to Italy so I spent some time researching that idea. It’s not going to happen anytime soon but it was a fun way to spend part of the day!

Leave a Reply

