Friday’s headlines:

15 09 2007

My husband is sitting in another chair in the same room as I am typing.  He saw me pull up my blog page and he said, “Is that gonna be about me?”  I started laughing. . . He’s a little paranoid, don’t you think?

My aunt and uncle from Michigan are staying with us this weekend while they take my “little” cousin Carla to Rosedale.  I can’t believe she’s old enough to go to RBC!  She told me she’s nervous about taking Philosophy with Eric Kouns.  I wanted to reassure her and tell her it won’t be that bad, but that’s a flat out lie.  So instead, I said, “Carla, dear, I think you have good reason to fear that class.”  Might as well be honest, that’s what I always say.

I had several neighborhood moms here for coffee and banana bread this morning.  We used to get together almost every Friday morning but the summer got crazy and we went almost 2 months without getting together.  It was good to catch up with everyone.  My one friend just found out her husband will spend most of 2008 in Kuwait (he’s in the army).  He leaves in October for stateside training then will head to Kuwait in February and be there at least 10 months.  She has 2 little girls at home (ages 3 and 5).  I can’t imagine.  She got teary eyed just talking about it today.  Wow.

Time to put Ellie to bed.  Let me leave you with a song I just learned from B and L (sung to the tune of “If you’re happy and you know it”):

Y-E-L-L-O-W spells yellow.  Y-E-L-L-O-W spells yellow.  Like the early morning sun when the day has just begun, Y-E-L-L-O-W spells yellow.

Verse 2

Daffodils and baby ducks are yellow.  Lemonade and scrambled eggs are yellow.  And that happy face that’s yellow, oh, he’s such a happy fellow, Y-E-L-L-O-W spells yellow.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 09 2007
Kimmie

I just sat here for what felt like a long time trying to figure that song out rhythmically…I think I’ve finally got it. They’re learning some tough songs with Mrs. Trout…

16 09 2007
Rhonda

yeah, that song’s a tough one. take it easy on us, eh? 😀

oh man, i’d love to take a class with Eric Kouns…I could use that sort of intellectual exercise these days. 🙂 not to mention that he cracked me up back in the day. weren’t you and conrad in that life of christ class, too?

17 09 2007
girlymom

Just me, not Conrad. Eric remains my favorite RBC teacher. . .I loved to watch him wind up and just let it fly. I worked my butt off in his classes though. . .

Leave a Reply

