A Little Perspective

19 10 2007

I just got back from B and L’s school where I volunteered for a while this afternoon. I am trying to do that about once a week. Last week I helped some kids who were struggling with letter sounds. Today, I quizzed kids on counting to 100. It was adorable to hear some of them say, “17, 18, 19, 100.” A few of them breezed right through it while others needed a lot of prompting.

Afterward, while the kids were at recess, I was talking with Mrs. Trout and she was telling me a little more about the students. I learned that of the 20 kids in the class, only 5 of them live with both parents (and 2 of them are B and L). Two students have a parent in jail, one is homeless, and one dear little girl has been smuggling food home from her lunch so that she’ll have something to eat at night. I almost cried when I heard that. No child should have to worry about what they’ll eat or where they’ll sleep at night. I’m talking about kindergarteners! Right here in the good ol’ USA. And this isn’t inner-city either. It’s the suburbs, where life is supposed to be sweet. So now, I’m broken hearted for these children and don’t know what to do about it.

One thing I will continue to do is volunteer in the classroom. I love having the opportunity to sit across the table from each child, look them in the eye, and say, “Are you ready to count to 100? I know you can do it!” Knowing that those words might be the only positive ones they hear all day long is a hard to imagine. . .but that’s why they matter!

So there’s my thoughts for the day. I am more and more convinced all the time that we made the right decision by sending our daughters to the public school. They are thriving in their classroom, and I am so very thankful for the opportunity to interact with their classmates.

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 10 2007
Aunt Jeannie

Wow, that is amazing, what some children have to go through. We are so blessed.

19 10 2007
Rhonda

good for you for seeing a ministry opportunity and taking it! that is heartbreaking, and i pray that you will be able to know how you can help. thanks for writing about it!

20 10 2007
katie neer

WOW. I’m shocked to hear those stats about your daughters’ classmates. It’s good that you can volunteer and spend time with them.

22 10 2007
girlymom

Welcome Katie! I’m so glad you’re reading!

25 10 2007
Dad

Vicki,

Thanks for keeping these blogs updated. Love hearing about what you are doing. I need more pictures.

Leave a Reply

