West Virginia, Mountain Mama. . .

25 10 2007

Okay. Let’s have a little quiz. Why? Because this is my blog and I just said so. That’s why. Grand prize goes to the first person to name the next 5 words in the title song. And extra bonus points to who can name the musician who made it famous. And no looking it up online. That would be cheating. And I would be even more impressed if anyone knew more words than just the chorus.

Why this little trivia, you ask? Because we just spent the weekend in beautiful WV among the mountains of Wheeling at a place called Oglebay Resort. For any of you outdoorsy people, (and even those of you not so outdoorsy), I highly recommend it. I took a walk the first morning I was there and saw 14 deer. The colors on the trees were gorgeous. We got a cabin with Conrad’s parent’s, sister, bro-in-law, and their 2 little girls (who are around the same age as B and L) and had a great time together. We ate some great food, stayed up late playing cards (Rook and Hoss are the family favorites), visited the zoo that is right on the grounds of the resort, took a trip to Cabela’s, and spent some time just reading and relaxing. I should also note that while we were at the zoo, we went to this bird exhibit where we could walk into a fenced in area and feed these cool birds (sorry, can’t remember the name of them). Well, I was in there about 2 minutes when a bird came and landed on my arm and promptly peed on me. The girls thought it was hilarious, but I wasn’t too happy about it.

Here’s a few pics from the weekend:

Bryn and Lydia enjoying the birds, just moments before I got peed on.

The whole fam. . .

Here’s my little punkin. . .

oglebay07-001.jpg

Actions

Information

5 responses

25 10 2007
Lisa

Vick – I love reading your blog 🙂 It is quite entertaining! I one time, with my Thoman cousins, dressed up in overalls and flannel and we video taped ourselves singing along with John Denver…. “Country Roads, take me home, to the place where I belong, West Virginia, Mountain Mama, take me home, country roads… All I know is part of the first verse, “Almost heaven, West Virginia, Blue Ridge Mountains, Shenandoah River…” Don’t worry, we were pretty young when we did this 🙂

25 10 2007
Rhonda

i’m afraid i can’t even participate in your contest, being somewhat slightly-older-country-music illiterate. but, thanks for hosting such an event.

and, more to the point…your girls are beautiful!!! and seeing you in that picture makes me miss you tons! and i’m glad you had a great time away. thanks for the news…

26 10 2007
leichtyk

Wow, Lisa, that’s embarrassing.

26 10 2007
girlymom

Lisa, You are the last person I expected to have such knowledge on these things. Wow. Way to go. I don’t know exactly what the grand prize is… bragging rights, I suppose.

27 10 2007
Lisa

Bragging rights work for me 🙂 I do have rather random knowledge stuffed into my head. I hope we destroyed that little music video 😉

Leave a Reply

