A Few Thoughts on Death

28 03 2008

Warning:  If you are looking for a happy and jovial entry, you might not want to continue reading.  I am in a very reflective mood; you may want to grab some tissues.

I got word this morning that my dear friend, cousin, and classmate, Brian Beachy, lost his hard-fought battle against melanoma last night.  He was diagnosed about a year ago and in just the last few weeks his cancer took a drastic turn and finally took his life.  His suffering has been great this week and I know it’s been excruciating for the family to helplessly sit by and watch his agony.  No one wants to see a loved one suffer, but can you really call the death of a 30 year old a blessing?  We are so happy to know he is in heaven, forever free from pain, but for those of us who love him it’s a bitter good-bye.

The amazing thing about his death is that when he finally took his last breath, he was surrounded by his whole family:  his dear wife Jessica (whom he married only 10 months ago) and her parents, his mom and dad, 2 sisters and their husbands, 2 nieces and a nephew.   When I heard that everyone was with him, I thought to myself, “That’s how I want to go.”  Someday I will leave this earth, and when I do, I hope Conrad, Lydia, Bryn, Ellie, their husbands, children, and grandchildren are at my side.  If that happens, then that means that God blessed me with the opportunity to see my daughters grow up.  When I was pregnant with the twins I often prayed that God would give me the opportunity to see my children’s children.  What more could a mother ask for?  I want Conrad there, because I can’t even fathom life without him, and if he’s at my deathbed then I have been spared living even a moment without him.  I don’t want my parents there, because it’s natural to bury your parents, but no parent should have to bury their child and I don’t want them to experience the agony that Tom and Karen are experiencing even now.

The bottom line is, I don’t get a choice about how or when I leave the earth.  But if I could choose, that’s what it would be.  The Beachy family is very dear to me, I know they would appreciate your prayers during these difficult days.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 03 2008
Connie Brinson

Brian worked with us at MNFI and we just learned this morning of his passing. Our love and prayers go out to his whole family. Although we didn’t see him often because most of his work was in the field rather than the office, his smile and positive outlook made him a joy to be around. We will miss him.

29 03 2008
Rhonda

thanks for sharing your thoughts. i’ll be praying for your comfort, as well as his family’s. are you able to go to the funeral?

29 03 2008
girlymom

Yes, I plan to be at the funeral. We’ll leave after church on Sunday; the funeral is Monday morning.

Leave a Reply

