Finally a Real Post

1 05 2008

I decided it’s time to actually update this instead of just posting a link leading you to other stuff.  Here in random order are a few events from the last 2 weeks or so:

1.  Our car is in the shop with a so far undiagnosed problem.  It’s a real pain having to share a vehicle with my husband. . .what can I say, we’re an all-American, spoiled rotten, consuming too much energy kind of family.

2.  Ellie wrote all over our new tile floor with a bunch of crayons like it was a giant canvas and she was getting ready for an art show or something.  Thank God I’m an experienced enough mom to keep a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser on hand at all times.

3.  Conrad is moving out of his office, but the new office at the new church isn’t ready yet.  So, that means I have to put up with all of that furniture, and an enormous amount of books in my home office until he can get into his new office which may be another 6-8 weeks.

4.  For the first time ever, I actually voted for an American Idol contestant.  I really like David Cook.

5.  I’ve been suspicious since my twins were about 8 months old that they are actually mirror twins.  As they developed, my suspicions continued to grow and finally it became clear that Lydia was definitely right-handed and Bryn was definitely left-handed.  That pretty much sealed my thinking on the matter, and now I have even more reason to think they are mirror twins:  I took them to have their eyes examined today and the doctor told me that their eyes seem to mirror one another.  Lydia has astigmatism in her right eye but none in her left, and Bryn was just the opposite.  Interesting.  She also told me that neither of them need glasses right now but they are well on their way to being as myopic as their mother.  I was seriously hoping that my kids would have Conrad’s 20/20 vision, but she actually laughed at me and said she can already tell they will be needing glasses at a young age, but we can hold them off for maybe a  year.  I really hated to hear that.

6.  I am going through serious withdrawal symptoms now that we have finished seasons 2 and 3 of “The Office.”  Once or twice a week we would put the kids in bed and watch an episode or two but now we’ve finished them all and I’m sad.  My all-time favorite episode is “The Injury” from season 2.  I laughed so hard I could hardly breathe.

7.  My little sister and her husband and their lime-sized baby are moving to West Liberty in less than 3 weeks.  That means I can be at her house in the time it takes to brew a pot of coffee.  Can’t wait.

8.  Ellie will be 2 in less than 2 weeks.  I think she’s getting ready to be potty-trained.  I hope so because I just spent $30 on a pack of diapers. . . I can definitely think of other ways I’d rather spend that money.

9.  All 3 girls are in serious need of a bath. . .off to call in the troops from the playhouse.

Actions

Information

6 responses

1 05 2008
katie neer

is “the injury” the one where the boss burns his foot on a george foreman grill because he’s frying bacon next to his bed in the morning? i loved that one…laughed hysterically over it.

i’m excited about the leichty’s big move too 🙂 it will be so nice to see them more often.

2 05 2008
girlymom

Yes, the George Foreman grill is the right episode. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything funnier in my life.

2 05 2008
Rhonda

oh man, i think i would love to watch the office with you. 😀

very interesting about the mirror twin thing. i’ve never thought mine were mirror, but suspected for a long time that they were not both right handed. turns out they are both right handed, but sierra took a long time to decide.

the story of ellie writing on the tiles reminds me of sierra writing on an etch-a-sketch with a sharpie. why? oh why? oh why? (that was just today, too.)

6 05 2008
Mary Ann

Vicki, do you remember making the freshly painted dining room wall a canvas for your art? To teach you a lesson, I had you clean it. That, of course, was pre-eraser time. You did such a lovely job of cleaning that it left a hole in the paint! Who learned the lesson…….. I think you might have been 16 at the time……….

Love ya!

8 05 2008
Linda

Gina painted Betty’s bathroom with red lipstick – and yes, there were a dozen adults in the house and she still managed it. She even painted the toilet bowl deoderizer – luckily, all she could reach was tile so no real damage. She just stood there and proudly announced “Pretty”

Love ya, Linda

8 05 2008
Robyn

This was fun to read, as always. I love hearing the stuff your kids do. 🙂 And 3 cheers for the Office.

Leave a Reply

