A Tough Week

28 05 2008

Last week was a tough one for our community.  A freshman at the local public school committed suicide in her home on Wednesday morning.  I didn’t know her or her parents but I am good friends with some of her extended family.  I was asked to help create some scrapbooks of her life to have at the funeral home so I was part of that project on Thursday night.  I’ve got to keep it real:  That was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.  Seeing all those pictures of her as a young, happy, innocent little girl was heart wrenching.  I was also asked to help put together scrapbooks of her older sister who is graduating high school this weekend.  So I spent several hours on Monday night scrapbooking again (there were 4 of us working and we did 90 pages!).  Again, a very emotional experience for me.  It’s always tough to lose a child, but suicide is the unfathomable.  I simply can’t understand it.

On a much lighter note, today is B and L’s last day of kindergarten.  Mrs. Trout told me she is thinking about flunking my children so she can have them again next year.  I wish she would.  The girls are sad about being done with school but very excited about the summer months.  We made a list last night of the things we want to do:  go fishing, eat ice cream at Young’s Dairy, mini golf, sleep in a tent in the back yard, go to the zoo, go to a baseball game.  We’ll stay busy, I’m sure.

And on an even happier note, Kimmie and Jon are all moved in and mostly settled in their new house.  Check out their blog for pictures of moving day and updates.

Actions

Information

One response

31 05 2008
rhonda

good for you, being willing to step into a tough situation like that! i’m sure you were a blessing to that family!

have a fun summer with your kids!

Leave a Reply

