New York City

21 06 2008

I know it’s only been a few hours since I posted the beach pics, but the kids are all occupied so I thought I’d go ahead and do the NYC portion of the trip too. If you haven’t yet seen the beach pics, scroll down to the previous post.

Let me first of all say that my intention was to eat my way through NYC and I think I pretty much accomplished that goal. I am a bit of a foodie (but not nearly as much as my sister) and I really enjoy trying new things. I kept a list of what I ate. Here it is:

asparagus quiche with balsamic greens, blue corn pancakes with grilled duck, red snapper, a white peach margarita, everything bagel, sicilian pizza, banana pudding, chocolate cupcake with chocolate icing, mint lemonade, cheeseburger, street vendor hot dog, asparagus-potato-leek soup, chilled curry corn soup, crudite which included veggies, olives, feta cheese, bread, mango chutney and vegetable tampanade, prosciutto bread, macaroon, chocolate lace cookie, humus with pine nuts and pita, guacamole with blue corn chips, yam fries with dill dip, a vanilla strawberry freddo, canoli from Little Italy (considered the best on the planet and I might have to agree), beef brisket, cole slaw, french fries, raspberry margarita.

I realize the above list looks pretty extensive for only 3 days. Some of the foods I ate from start to finish, but a lot of them were a bite here and there or even a spoonful of someone else’s entree’. All of these foods were carefully chosen from highly recommended restaurants, some fancy and some just a little hole in the wall recommended by a local. We waited in line for 30 minutes to get the banana pudding and cupcake and it was worth every minute. Let me also say that when we got home I discovered that I had actually lost a couple pounds, which should tell you something about the amount of walking we did. Okay, enough about food. I’m salivating just recalling it all. . .

This was my view for most of the trip: the backside of my brother and sis-in-law. My brother does everything in high speed, including walking which meant we were always about 10 steps behind.

These are all mushrooms at the market in Grand Central Station (only a true foodie can appreciate this picture):

The Subway:

Eating the cupcakes from Magnolia Bakery in Chelsea that we waited in line for 30 minutes for:

Next to eating, this was my favorite thing: trying on jewelry and bartering with the vendors!

Let me tell you a story about this picture: It was pouring rain so we all crammed into this doorway (except for Conrad who was brave enough to take this picture). We were debating whether to wait out the downpour or to just bite the bullet and run through the rain. As we were arguing about what to do, my brother ripped a Great. Big. Fart. Ahem. As only a big brother can, and made the decision easy. We all took off running and laughing hysterically through the rain.

Here are the 6 of us on the steps of the Harlem brownstone where we stayed:

Here we are on the Top of Rockefeller Center on our 10th(!) Wedding Anniversary.  That’s the Empire State Building in the background.

My sister will be posting pics on her blog very soon.  Feel free to click on her link from this page to see more pictures.

All in all it was a great trip.  I had a lot of fun with my siblings and their spouses.  We plan to do another trip like this someday.  But, until then, the pictures and memories will do.  Thanks for indulging me by reading this extra long blog. . .

Actions

Information

One response

30 06 2008
rhonda

this makes me so hungry…

next time you go, can i come with you?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

