Thoughts on the Fair and Family

7 08 2008

The Fair has arrived here in our little town. We took the girls the other night. I think that fairs are a cultural experience. I also think the fair brings out all kinds of people. I wish I would have kept a list of the offensive t-shirts I saw that night. . .not that I could publish it here in good conscience. The immodesty and general trashiness of the women was astounding. I normally think of our town as a pleasant place to live, but you wouldn’t get that impression if all you did was head to the local fair. Enough on that topic. . .I will say that the girls had fun on the rides and I enjoyed the food. Where else can you get pulled pork, fried pickles and funnel cake all at one place?

On another note, we survived our first Sunday in the new church building. The week leading up to it was absolutely crazy and I am forever grateful to the men and women of our congregation who worked late into the night making the place presentable. I am also thankful for my cousin, Carla, who gave me many hours of selfless service by cleaning my house, helping me out with the kids and generally keeping me sane for a couple of days last week. Also, my cousin Katrina and her husband, Dave, and their 4 awesome kids were here for the weekend and they were a huge help to us. Dave was out late Saturday night helping unload and set up chairs and Katrina was up early Sunday morning helping me do one last clean-up before people arrived. And finally, my sister and her husband came to our house early on Sunday morning to help my girls get ready so that Conrad and I could both be at the church early doing various things. Maybe this paragraph sounds like some kind of award acceptance speech with all the “thank yous” but it feels good to acknowledge all the people that helped pull off this massive project and keep the pastor’s family cared for.

And one final thing: I made 3 blueberry pies in the last 2 weeks and they were fabulous.

Actions

Information

One response

27 08 2008
Dad

Vicki,

I’ll give you 50 bucks for a fresh blueberry pie!

Leave a Reply

