A Taste of Ike

16 09 2008

You wouldn’t think that our little mid-western town would be threatened by Hurricane Ike who was headed straight for Galveston, Texas.  But, alas, we were not just threatened, we were hit hard!  Our household was among thousands without power for nearly 36 hours. . .some still don’t have it.  Ours was finally turned on about 10:00 last night.  We stood on our front porch and cheered on the men from the electric company who were working around the clock.  Trees are down, structural damage is everywhere and many businesses are closed due to the power outages everywhere.  The girls didn’t have school yesterday or today so we’re using up our valuable snow days in the middle of 70 degree weather.

It’s crazy how dependent I am on electricity.  I felt like my whole life was at a standstill. . .I couldn’t do laundry, run the dishwasher, bake, run the vacuum, or any of the other stuff that’s part of my everyday life.  Also, you wouldn’t believe how many times I walked into a dark room and flipped on the light switch and then was startled when the lights didn’t come on.  You’d think I’d get it!!  So we lit candles, had flashlights on hand and didn’t open the refrigerator or freezer unless absolutely necessary.  Thankfully, we didn’t lose much food. . .just a few dairy products.

Here’s a few pics:

Here’s Conrad and the girls cleaning up some of our lost branches:

We read lots of stories while we still had daylight:

Both nights while we sat in the dark, we did shadow puppets. . .bad picture, but it’s all I have

And on another note, It’s official:  I am giving up on keeping my house in order.  I am giving up. What’s particularly disturbing about this picture is the fact that I had just cleaned this mess up about 10 minutes before.  Honest.

That’s all for now. . .

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

