The Twins Turn 7

17 02 2009

Every year I say I’m not going to let birthday week get out of hand again. And every year at some point, I say to myself, “How did I let this get out of hand again?”  Ah, well.  The truth is, I love birthdays!!  I lay awake at night dreaming up fun games, prizes, cake ideas, themes, gifts, etc.   All on a budget, of course. I think it’s mostly because Bryn and Lydia think their birthday is a national holiday and the whole world should stop for their sake.  I haven’t done much to convince them otherwise.

The big day started with breakfast in bed:  hard-boiled eggs, scones, a banana and a cup of juice.  They headed off to school in great anticipation and they were not disappointed:  they got to wear birthday crowns all day long, which got them lots of attention from the other students and staff.  In addition to their birthday, they were celebrating Valentine’s Day at school.

The school nurse called me at 10:30 that morning.  I panicked when I heard her voice.  She informed me that Lydia was in her office complaining of a belly ache but she didn’t have a fever and she wasn’t puking.  She told me she thinks Lydia’s stomach was all in knots due to being over excited about the day.  She asked if I was okay with just letting her rest for a few minutes in the office and then have her try to go back to class.  I said that was fine so that’s what we did and she perked back up and was fine the rest of the day.  That was close.  A sick kid would have been a real catastrophe!

At 5:30 that evening several of the girls’ friends came over and we were soon full swing into our “Fancy Nancy” party.  (If you have daughters and aren’t familiar with Fancy Nancy, I recommend you check her out. . .so cute!).  At 8:00 that night, Conrad’s parents arrived from PA along with 2 of our nieces, ages 5 and 3.  To say that it was chaos is an understatement.

In the end, the girls had a great time.  Bryn whispered in my ear, “Mommy, this is the best birthday I ever had!” which made it all very worthwhile.  So now we take a break from the birthday thing until May when Ellie turns 3.  By then I’ll be ready to start dreaming up another theme. . .until then, I’ll enjoy the leftover birthday cake and call it a day.

Breakfast in Bed:

jan-feb-pics-102

This is how we felt when it was all said and done:

jan-feb-pics-065

The tea cup birthday cake.  “Pinkies up Darling!”

birthday-pics-003

Actions

Information

One response

17 02 2009
Rhonda

seven?? amazing. that sounds like a wonderful birthday celebration and now i have to go and google fancy nancy. never heard of her.

Leave a Reply

