A plea to all you homemakers out there. . .

20 07 2009

I think there may be a few men who read this blog, which is fine, but right now I really need to hear from you moms/homemakers out there!  It’s my turn to post what I’ve read on many of your blogs at one point or another:  I NEED MEAL IDEAS!

I am seriously lacking motivation for cooking, which means we’ve been eating lots of sandwiches, eggs, pancakes, and other stuff I don’t normally work into our menu.  Normally, I enjoy cooking in the summer, because it’s so easy to throw something on the grill, cut up some fruit, make a nice salad, etc.  But even that feels overwhelming to me right now!  I feel like I need easy, convenient food that is healthy and cheap!  Ha!  Am I asking for too much?

What are your “go to” meals when you just need something quick?  What do you make sure you have in your freezer or pantry at all times?  Also, I work every Monday and Tuesday and usually don’t get home until at least 6:00, so I need stuff on hand that Conrad can throw together for the kids (besides PB&J!).  Any ideas??   Also, I’m interested in what snack items you keep on hand for your kids.   Would love to hear from you!

Actions

Information

8 responses

21 07 2009
Kimmie

I always have tortillas on hand for fajitas, tacos, burritos, etc. It’s really easy to throw some chicken in a pan with peppers (which I always have in my freezer from my garden) onions, salt, pepper, oregano and lime juice if I’m feeling fancy. Use it as filling for the tortillas and top with salsa. That’s one of our favorite quick meals with stuff I always have on hand.

21 07 2009
Rhonda

remember Israeli breakfasts? good bread, boiled eggs, cheese, peppers, onions, cucumbers, tomatos…whatever floats your boat. my kids love it because there are choices.

we actually like any breakfast food for lunch or supper, too.

quesadillas are good and fast – tortillas with refried beans and cheese (or whatever!) in the middle and i fry them till they are crisp. dip in salsa and/or sour cream.

i love doing beef and/or pork in coke in the crockpot and then shredding it and freezing it. you could add bbq sauce for bbq sandwiches, fajita seasoning for fajitas or use the chopped meat in soups.

my kids love any meal with finger foods. sometimes i just make a plate for each of them with some kind of bite-size fruit, carrot and/or cucumber sticks, cheese slices, crackers and a cookie or muffin. they love it.

i hope lots of people comment so i can get new ideas too. 🙂

21 07 2009
Vicki

What is this coke/beef/pork thing you’re talking about? I’ve heard of baking a ham with coke but, not meat like you’re referring to. Do you just pour a can of coke over a cut of meat, cook on low (or high?) for several hours? I like this idea. . .

21 07 2009
Rhonda

i’m not sure how to link in a comment, but you can find the recipe on the Nisly recipe blog… let me know if you can’t find it and i’ll email it to you.

21 07 2009
Rhonda

i forgot to answer the question about snack food for the kids. we do usually have some junk food around – cookies, chips or whatever. but i also try to keep some healthy choices around too. unsweetened applesauce cups are a favourite, raisins and peanuts mixed together, popcorn, and of course, fruit. i am hoping to make yogurt/fruit popsicles when it finally gets hot here. 🙂

23 07 2009
Candice

I have my recipes on the computer, so I’ll e-mail you a few of my favorites if I can hunt down your e-mail address! Fun to hear other’s responses. We don’t have very exciting snacks around here- usually a piece of fruit, popsicles or peanuts. Do you have a rice cooker? It’s nice to just throw rice in there and then we can just make something quick to put on top- sometimes even just cheesy scrambled eggs over rice with soy sauce for the girls! We buy so much of our food- I’m totally spoiled with not cooking.

6 08 2009
Robyn

If you like zuchinni, throw that in the skillet with onions, garlic and tomatoes (use ground beef too, if you want) and eat over rice. Or without the beef just put lots of cheese on top.

Tacos/taco salad are a staple. Always keep taco and fajita seasoning on hand. Or make taco salad with grilled chicken breasts – then add avacado, black beans, and corn.

One day when you’re feeling ambitious, make up a whole bunch of real hamburgers and freeze them. You can put them on the grill just like the store bought ones.

Deluxe grilled cheese – ham and swiss, tomato, bacon and cheddar, etc.

Ceasar salad with grilled chicken

Marinate tomatoes with olive oil, tons of garlic and fresh basil. Leave it out on the counter all day. When you get home, cook some pasta. Drain it, then throw the tomato stuff in the pot with the pasta. Add some mozza or parmesan and you have dinner. I LOVE this.

6 08 2009
Robyn

Forgot to mention I’m feeling the same way as you – uninspired. It was good for me to jog my brain for ideas!

Leave a Reply

