No Place Like Home. . .

29 07 2009

It’s a rainy morning which means the kids are sleeping longer than normal thanks to the dark sky.  I, on the other hand, went to my 6:30 pilates class, have my 2nd load of laundry in the washer and am now enjoying a cup of coffee while the house is quiet.

Last week we made a trip to Michigan to spend some time with my dad.  A few days before we left, the thought occurred to me that it would be really fun to catch a Detroit Tigers game on the way.  I checked the schedule, and sure enough, they were in town!  Better yet, they had a game scheduled for 1:00 on Thursday, which was exactly when we were traveling through!  A few clicks later, I was the proud owner of 4 Tiger vs. Mariner tickets (Ellie is still free, thus the 4 tickets instead of 5, in case anyone was confused about that.  You probably thought I was being a negligent mother and leaving my 3 year old at home for the week because I didn’t feel like dealing with her back-talk.  Lighten up, people, we had her with us, and we even let her out of the trunk long enough to watch the game).

The great part about the game was that we weren’t sure we were going to be able to watch it.  You see, the sky was gray and nasty and the rain was pouring down all while we were traveling north toward Detroit.  My dad was keeping a close eye on the radar and said we should be in good shape for the game, but I have to say I was doubtful. . .it was so miserable outside!  But we trekked on toward Detroit and by the time we actually got in our seats the rain had stopped.  They delayed the game for about 30 minutes then finally got started.  We sat through the entire game in the most beautiful sunshine!  It was absolutely gorgeous!  The game was a bit of a disappointment, since the Tigers lost 2-1, but the experience was very fun and is a definite highlight of the summer for me.  The crazy thing is that we walked back to our van and just as we were getting settled again, it started pouring rain!!  We just started laughing! Just sort of seemed like God was kind enough to give us a window of sunshine in which to enjoy the game, and then He was back to watering the earth. . .

We got to my dad’s about 8:00 that night, played with his new Golden Retriever, Shelby, then headed to bed.  The rest of the weekend was filled with fun stuff:  a parade in my hometown, playing at the park, scooter rides, The Big Slide, bumper cars, etc.  The weather continued to swing between 68 degrees and rain to 80 degrees and sunny. . .welcome to Michigan!  Here’s a few pics of a very fun weekend in Pigeon!

Check out that gray sky in the background!

pics 047

Nothing beats a ball park hot dog!  Ellie later threw hers up!  Good times.

pics 049

Here’s “The Big Slide”  I have very many happy memories of sailing down this 3 story slide on a feed sack when I was a kid.  I wish you could hear Ellie describe her trip down. . .hilarious!  This picture is my dad with one of my twins. . .can’t tell which one in this pic!

IMG_2503

Dad and Lydia on these high-tech bumper cars:

IMG_2535

Bryn figuring out the controls:

IMG_2528

Here we are getting ready for a wild ride through the woods!  Too bad you can’t see Shelby’s face. . .she’s a cute puppy!

IMG_4650

Funny Story:  My dad lives in a wooded area and we see deer around all the time.  This time we counted 22 deer sightings!  One morning as we were driving down the road, we stopped and admired this sweet little fawn.  After we had watched it and oohed and aahed over it for a few minutes, Bryn piped up from the back seat and said, “Sure wish we had a gun!”  I found it hilarious and disturbing all in one.

IMG_4624

I forgot to mention above that one of the main reasons I went home was for a class reunion.  It’s been 14 years since I graduated from high school.  Our class (1995) and the 2 classes before us all got together for a combined 15ish year reunion.  Here I am with a few of my classmates:

IMG_4669

I think I’ll stop there for now.  This afternoon I am headed to Goshen, Indiana to spend some time with my mom, my brother, sis-in-law and their kids.    Need to finish up the laundry and get packing. . .and a 2nd cup of coffee is probably a good idea too!

Actions

Information

One response

1 08 2009
rhondablogs

i don’t know how i didn’t comment on this till now…
but, i love seeing pictures of your girls! so beautiful. and getting so big, too. my girls love to talk about them and i wish they could be together more often. wouldn’t that be fun…

hope you’re having a good time in IN.

Leave a Reply

