Here’s What’s Baking!

10 09 2009

I’ve been on a baking kick lately and today’s menu includes the best chocolate chip cookies I know how to make!

My little side-kick and I have been busy little chefs this morning:

Ellie in her new apron.  She was so proud!

Labor Day 016

My go-to recipe for choc. chip cookies, only I change it a little bit:

Labor Day 018

The end result: about 8 dozen of the yummiest chocolate chip cookies to ever grace my kitchen.  I bet you wish you were at my house right now, don’t you? I’ll get out the milk and we’ll just sit and have us a little chat.  In fact, why don’t you just drop what you’re doing right now and come on over. . .

Labor Day 020

THE Recipe:

Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies (Taste of Home)

1 cup butter or margarine, softened

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup sugar

1 package instant vanilla pudding mix

2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 tsp. vanilla

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Cream butter, and sugars.  Add pudding mix, eggs and vanilla.  Combine flour and baking soda; add to creamed mixture and mix well.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Bake at 375 for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned.

My notes:  This recipe makes about 4 dozen so I always double it so I have plenty for the freezer.  I only bake them for 9 minutes because I like them slightly gooey.  My secret weapon is to use butterscotch pudding instead of vanilla pudding.  Even if you’re not a butterscotch fan, I recommend you try it.  You don’t really taste the butterscotch, but the cookies have a richer flavor.  YUM!

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 09 2009
rhondablogs

yum. looks so good…i might have to take a break from my favourite choc. chip recipe and try these. i’d come sample them first, if i could. 🙂

cute assistant, too. 🙂

14 09 2009
kristinbucher

i’ve made these before. They’re yummy! Unfortunately we don’t have vanilla pudding mixes here. And I usually get my choc chips brought from the US. So, if I did made these they would be a TREAT!! Eat a few for me, OK?

28 09 2009
rhondablogs

i tried them! so good, but unfortunately, they’re almost gone already. 🙂 i used the butterscotch pudding and love the flavour. as i was making them, i remembered that i have a similar recipe with a chocolate pudding mix and white chips. that’s good, too. thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

