It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas!

24 11 2009

Don’t hate me because I’m organized.  Haha.  Okay, that was funny.  I’m not normally this ahead of the game when it comes to Christmas preparations, but this year I’m trying really hard to focus more on Jesus and less on the craziness and stress that comes with the holiday season.  Believe it or not, my shopping is done!!

And to make it even more sickening, our tree is up and our house is decorated! And that means I get to just sit back and enjoy this time of year without the added stress.  I have already spent one evening wrapping gifts, sipping peppermint tea and listening to soothing Christmas music.  Love it!

I took a few pictures of some of my favorite Christmas decorations:

This is my all time favorite Christmas item (I’m having a hard time categorizing it as a decoration).  My friend Hayley gave it to us as a wedding gift.  I loved it then and I love it still.  Too bad I’m such a horrible photographer.  If I was any good at taking pictures, you would see the detail in this piece is amazing.  Take my word for it; it’s all around lovely:

 

Why hang stockings when you can hang mittens?

These mittens are made out of sweaters we bought at a Goodwill.  With a little supervision from my mother, The Amazing Seamstress, I made them all by myself.  I am extraordinarily proud of that fact.  If you know anything about my sewing skills (or lack thereof) you understand.

 

We bought a new nativity set last year at Christmas.   I love this one for its rustic features and for the “dirtiness” of the stable.  I can almost smell the manure that must have been present that first Christmas night!

The girls keep asking why Jesus is laying on a dirty blanket.  I tell them it’s probably quite realistic that it was dirty, if there was a blanket at all.

 

And finally, this little guy just makes me smile!

 

And just in case you think I really am organized, let me just be real for a moment.  I am sitting in our office as I write this.  When I look around, here’s what I see:  The Jungle Book dvd, a pair of shoes, a pair of socks, a bottle of peroxide, scissors, craft paper, rubber stamps, a plastic gorilla, 2 coffee filters, Minnie Mouse, a scarecrow hat, a marker, a pair of sunglasses, 5 q-tips, and various papers that should be in the trash but instead are scattered throughout the room.  And that’s just in this room.  The rest of my house has been declared a national disaster and is completely inaccessible by foot.  I need military assistance to bring it back under control.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

 

Actions

Information

One response

25 11 2009
Nana

Thanks for the compliment, Vicki! I love reading your blog as you have a way of keeping your readers checking often for your next post. You have a special gift – use it often!

Leave a Reply

